How Do You Solve the Blank Page Problem?

Rachel Thompson
5 min readAug 8, 2017
The Blank Page Problem: How to use the concept of a studio to make progress on important work.

Have you ever experienced what I call the blank page problem? When you start working on a project by opening a new document, then stare it without taking action.

Yes? Me too! For example, a dozen pristine canvases are in my apartment waiting for my creativity to magically appear on them.

I want to start creating, but I’m not making progress. Why not? And how can I change that?

This problem exists with business work too. We have ideas for all sorts of things that we feel we should be doing but never actually make progress on.

The Blank Page Problem is a Lack of Structure

The problem is that so much unconstrained potential overwhelms and paralyzes us. Consider what happens if you ask a child to choose one play option out of all the possible play options ever? I don’t have children but I imagine it might not be a pretty experience.

We crave a structure we understand within which we can work. Or which we can break through in rebel fashion. We need constraints to work our creative and human magic. We need resistance to take action. We need paths we can follow until we want to wander off them. For me, the concept of a studio is one of my favorite ways to solve the blank page problem. It’s the grown-up version of playing with a cardboard box.

--

--

Rachel Thompson

Rachel is a strategy consultant and business coach for solopreneurs. She is based in NC with her dog, Devin. Learn more at daringstudios.com